Finnish School is Out!

I attended the kids’ last day of Finnish school because there was an awards ceremony. Since the school encourages only Finnish to be spoken, I’m screwed because my Finnish vocabulary is limited to, “Where is your pacifier?” “Take your fingers out of your mouth,” and “put your pants on.” None of those are suitable replies when people speak to me. Or if they are, I don’t want to be a part of that conversation.

During the ceremony Little Finn runs out of the room where all the parents and kids have gathered to sing and receive awards. The Finn follows. I’m left alone with the older kid as the program begins.
Finn Girl gets her certificate
Finn Girl’s teacher stands up. What’s she saying? I have no clue in it’s another language! Well, Finn Girl and her teacher have the same name, Suvi, which means summer in Finnish. We’re singing a song about summer during in the program.
Her teacher says something that sounds like Suvi (finnish language puts different endings on nouns and it confuses the hell outta me), but I don’t know if she’s talking about herself, Finn Girl, summer or the song. After the third time the teacher says Suvi, a parent hissed at me in English that Suvi needed to go up front to accept her certificate. Awkward, indeed.

Little Finn in class

Here’s Little Finn completely avoiding class. We’re all doing some hokey-pokey-like dance. Yup, us grown-ass adults shaking our legs and twirling around like morons while our 2 year old gives zero shits about the class. Pretty much sums up how he felt about his class all year.

IMG_1990

Look, here’s the certificates they received. I don’t understand what’s written on them. The Finn says they signify the kids completed that year’s class. Ok, sounds good. I’ve learned Google and Bing do not translate Finnish well, so I’ll take his word for it.

The kids were excited school was over, but I will miss it.  It was the only time I got the house all to myself!

 

4 comments

    1. I sure do miss your way with words! Your storytelling has my stomach aching from laughing so much regarding your relationship with the Finnish language.
      Miss you!

      Like

Leave a comment