Hiking with Kids

forest

It’s been an unseasonably warm winter in Washington. We’ve been enjoying 60 degree weather, sunshine and our flowers are starting to bloom. The family decided to take advantage of the weather and go for a local hike. I packed up water, snacks, hand sanitizer, wipes, and crossed my fingers.
Thirty minutes later we were at Coal Creek park. I strapped Little Finn into my carrier. And away we went with him crying and kicking me.

waterfall

So many picturesque moments of green landscapes on the hike. I showed my sister the above picture of the waterfall at the end of the hike. She said it looked fake. I told her if it was fake it’d look like this…

waterfallstickfigure
That red thing is me floating down the river. Do you know how exhausting it is carrying 27 lb of screaming toddler on your back up a muddy, steep incline?
During the 45 minute trek Little Finn pulled my ponytail like I was his horse and my hair was his rein. He also wiped his snotty nose and dirty hands in my ponytail. I had no idea my hair had so many uses.
Maybe it’s a new trend I can start here. Out of tissues? Use your hair! Ran out of wipes? Use your hair! I’m certain I can find articles on how snot and crumbs are nourishing for your hair. It’s also a renewable resource. People will love that aspect out here!

familypic

The hike back down was summed up nicely by Finn Girl, “Listening to nature is boring. When are we done? I never want to come back here.”

Yeah, not seeing Girl Scouts in her future.

suvionbridge

Leave a comment